World Gourmet Awards 2020 – List of Award Recipients – hosted online for the first time - Alvinology

World Gourmet Awards 2020 – List of Award Recipients – hosted online for the first time

The 20th edition of the World Gourmet Awards was hosted online for the very first time. Stakeholders comprising professionals in the food & beverage (F&B) industry were invited to a live stream on Facebook where the awards were announced.

Held in conjunction with the World Gourmet Summit 2020 (WGS), the World Gourmet Awards (WGA) is highly regarded as one of the most esteemed accolades in Singapore and around the region. A total of 38 awards were presented to F&B establishments, chefs, sommeliers and restaurant managers.

The awards were presented across five distinct categories – Professionals (Chef) Awards, Professionals (Service) Awards, Horeca, Wine & Bar Awards, Gourmet F&B Awards, Special Achievement Awards.

Professionals (Chef) Awards

  1. USA Rice Federation Chef Apprentice Chef of the Year – Jolene Sng, At-Sunrice GlobalChef Academy
  2. Electrolux Professional Asian Cuisine Chef of the Year – Ivan Yeo, The 1925 Brewing Co. (Joo Chiat)
  3. Montreux Patisserie Baker of the Year – Sim Li-Shenn, Carpenter & Cook
  4. USA Rice Federation Chef Mentor of the Year – Julien Royer, Odette
  5. MKN Chef of the Year (Female) – Melissa Revilla, Dempsey Cookhouse
  6. MKN Chef of the Year (Male) – Angus Chow, GAKE
  7. Angliss Singapore Corporate Chef of the Year – Rick Stephen, SATS Catering
  8. Halton Executive Chef of the Year – Eric Cheam, Sheraton Towers Singapore
  9. USA Cheese Guild Innovative Chef of the Year – Teo Yeow Siang, 3 Embers Culinary Craft
  10. Luzerne Junior Chef of the Year (Female) – Wendy Poh, Food Bank Singapore
  11. Luzerne Junior Chef of the Year (Male) – Ryan Nile Choo, CatFish Restaurant
  12. Cacao Barry Pastry Chef of the Year – Kent Ng, Mandarin Oriental Singapore
  13. Fabristeel Rising Chef of the Year (Male) – Fabristeel Rising Chef of the Year (Male)
  14. Welbilt Rising Chef of the Year (Female) – Aeron Choo, Kappou Japanese Sushi Tapas Bar

Professionals (Service) Awards

  1. Q Industries Food & Beverage Manager of the Year – Selvam Gnana, The Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore
  2. Tai Thong Wine & Spirits Mixologist of the Year – Christyne Lee, Tess Bar & Kitchen
  3. Luzerne Restaurant Manager of the Year – Brandon Tan, The Dragon Chamber
  4. Phuture Foods Restaurateur of the Year – Loh Lik Peng, Unlisted Collection
  5. Cuisine & Wine Asia Rising Sommelier of the Year – Lisa Jeon, Park90
  6. Asia Wine Network Sommelier of the Year – Neil Simon Claudio, Burnt Ends

ORECA, Wine & Bar Awards

  1. Chope Asian Cuisine Restaurant of the Year – Paradise Teochew
  2. Faema Café of the Year – Common Man Coffee Roasters
  3. Hobart New Restaurant of the Year – VUE Bar & Grill
  4. Wine Concierge New World Wine List of the Year
    • JAAN by Kirk Westaway – Platinum
    • The White Rabbit – Gold
    • Zafferano Italian Restaurant & Lounge – Silver
  5. Wine & Philosophy Old World Wine List of the Year
    • Gattopardo Ristorante Di Mare – Platinum
    • Dolce Vita – Silver JAAN by Kirk Westaway – Gold
  6. Foodservice Consultants Singapore Restaurant Design of the Year – Birds of A Feather
  7. Huber’s Butchery Restaurant of the Year – Burnt Ends
  8. Limwood Group Specialist Bar of the Year – Mitzo Restaurant & Bar, Grand Park Orchard

Gourmet F&B Awards

  1. Winterhalter Caterer of the Year – 3 Embers Culinary Craft Pte Ltd
  2. USA Cheese Guild Gourmet Distributor of the Year – Artisan Fine Foods
  3. USA Cheese Guild Gourmet Retailer of the Year – Ryan’s Grocery
  4. Marrone Hospitality Institution of the Year – Asian Culinary Institute Singapore

Special Achievement Awards

  1. MEIKO GREEN Waste Solutions Green Initiative Award – Grand Hyatt Singapore
  2. Q Industries Hospitality Star (Sustainability) Award – Sebastian Kern, Grand Hyatt Singapore
  3. Lieu Marketing Lifetime Achievement Award – Chef Tony Khoo, Corporate Executive Chef, Pan Pacific Hotels Group
  4. Indoguna Singapore Lifetime Achievement Award – Ms Margaret Heng, Chief Executive, Shatec
  5. Hall of Fame (Sommelier of the Year) – Mr Daisuke Kawai, Co-founder & Chief Sommelier of La Terre
  6. Hall of Fame (Gourmet Distributor of the Year) – Classic Fine Foods

Judging for the awards was also done differently this year. Online nominations and voting were introduced this year. The judging process involves nominations from the public and evaluation by leaders in the F&B sector on criteria such as professionalism, value and service standards.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts